Family

Family

Extended
Uncles
Aunts
Cousins
First
Second
Third…
I went to meet my dad’s
father’s
uncle’s
Son’s
son
and his family
and others
People
Say hello
How is Boston? they ask
I struggle
Unfamiliar faces
and
Unfamiliar names
An old woman
I don’t quite know we are related
But I am certain we are
I could tell by the way she looked at me
and held my hand
She gives me
a little crash course
Family Tree 101
“That is your father’s uncle
and his daughter
and her husband
he is a doctor
she is an accountant”
I nod —
each word enters one ear
and exits from the other
Nothing
retained
They tell me they are proud of me
and my father
for giving me the opportunities
that he did
my father looks at me
with those loving eyes
I look back
Wondering how often I will get the chance to do that?
How many more years left? They ask
Unsure how to answer that question
I say 2 more years until college ends
knowing
that what they mean is not that
Stay here
or
stay away?
Choose what’s best for ___
I know not how to fill that blank
****************
I return home
After the little family
reunion?
I see my grandmother
My mother’s
mom
She shows me
pictures
of a decorated
prayer room
She loves to pray
Look:
Thankorji
She says
I see and nod
I tell her
One day
We will make an even better prayer room for her
One day…
As we talk about the future
I tell her
I may never live here
“Have you no shame?”
“what about us?”
“what about your parents?”
I tell myself
Choose what’s best for ___
I still don’t know
how to fill that blank
Published by: urjalakhani

Urja Lakhani is a passionate to do lister, a bibliophile and a newbie violin virtuoso. She is fascinated by Economics and Finance which is just a better way of saying that she loves money and wants to make an obscene amount of it. The best way to irk her would be to tell her that she can’t do something because she is a girl, but then again she has probably done it already.

Categories UncategorizedTags, , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

