Control

I went on a drive

I wasn’t sitting on the drivers seat
but instead
I was right beside it
enjoying the view
in front,
and on the side
I opened the window
Felt the breeze
enjoyed the scene
Nothing else on my mind
except
the beautiful stars
and the accompanying wind
I looked at the driver
and was thankful
for this moment
where I did not have to worry
about where the car went
and how
I like taking control
sometimes
a bit too much
Sometimes
I forget
to just sit
and relax
and trust someone else
and just follow
I took a ballroom dancing class one
A class of 28 women
and 2 men
We were all taught both roles:
Leader
Follower
The leader
Arched back
Strong hands
Asked the follower to dance
Holding hands
right
a hand on the partners back
and using the other
to lift the partner’s
always
supporting
and
balancing
Making the decisions
which leg will go first
and
which way to go
Back or forth
Left or right
Fast or
slow
Whenever I danced with someone
I was asked
“would you like to lead
or follow?”
“Lead”
 I would say
One day,
I was asked a question
I wasn’t so used to
“Can I lead?”
Reluctantly
I said, “okay”
That day,
I enjoyed myself
A bit more than usual that day
I like losing control
sometimes
a bit too much
Published by: urjalakhani

Urja Lakhani is a passionate to do lister, a bibliophile and a newbie violin virtuoso. She is fascinated by Economics and Finance which is just a better way of saying that she loves money and wants to make an obscene amount of it. The best way to irk her would be to tell her that she can’t do something because she is a girl, but then again she has probably done it already.

Categories UncategorizedTags, , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

